The fun of Scrapbooking

So, I have always enjoyed taking pictures to document life. However, what I love even more is to take those photograph and turn them into paper and digital scrapbooks. Actually my love of photography and layout design is what inspired me to work towards a Graphic Design degree and make a career of this passion.

When you snap a photo, that picture tells a story for generations. Take that photo and build a layout and design to frame it and it tells an even better story. One of my favorite blogs for paper and digital scrapbooking is “Two Peas in a Bucket”

Here is the link  http://twopeasinabucket.typepad.com/

Other sites that lend me great inspiration, Etsy, www.etsy.com and Folksy www.folksy.com. Im always finds great photo collages to give me inspiration.

For most of my recent projects I have used a program called Blurb http://www.blurb.com. I love this website, it allows you to create you scrapbooking pages in photoshop and then upload to print directly from there website.

My latest project was a sign-in book for a friends wedding. I called this project and “Interactive Scrapbook.  I created pages that included the couples engagement photos and with each page I  left room for every guest to write special thoughts for the newlyweds. This way, the guests are able to place the finishing touches the story tolk by this scrapbook.

I love to make scrapbooks, wether paper or digital that only use black and white photographers. This allows me to be really creative with color and patterns without distracting or clashing with the photos.

Leave a Reply

