Mixed Media-Typography and Photography

I have recently been absolutely fascinated with typography. For some reason the way type is created and the many various designs intriques me. Not only is it the design that I like so much but also, the way type can evoke emotion.  I love how you can take a photo, incorporate text and the project takes on a completely different feel. So, when I recently read an article about Sarah Fretwell, a photographer who combines her portrait  photography with the words of the subject, I was hooked. Not only does the design appeal to me,  but this photographer took the idea in a completely different direction. She photographs victims from the Congo, who normally are not able to tell their stories, and has them write down there words so she can then use Photoshop to add these words into the photograph. Even though I have seen this concept used many times before, the way that Sarah Frettwell executes it is amazing and a great way to use her talent for the better good of humanity. Feel free to check out the article here.

http://www.americanphotomag.com/photo-gallery/2012/10/truths-to-tell

After reading this article I was inspired to try the concept my self……

blog-jpeg

So, I started this project as a tribute to my husbands grandmother. It’s a work in progress but I’m excited where it is going. The words I used were memories my bother-in-law wrote as a eulogy for their grandmother. I used photoshop to add the words to the photograph and plan to use some textures and color adjustments to give the photo a more aged and antique feel. I can’t wait to see how it will turn out.

Leave a Reply

